Home Again

12829143_592050457617095_4525427734534876512_o.jpg
Making friends with a lovely lady who has the same name as my sister, whom I miss dearly.

Dear Readers,

A short update because simply put, eloquent phrasing eludes me so I resort to diary-entry-style, uninhibited and free-flow.

Soon I’ll be back home in Oregon, having landed the job of my dreams working at Nike headquarters. I’m sure to miss the geckoes scampering around my little wooden hut here on the island and the breathtaking ocean and whales spouting in the far-off distance, but I’ll be cured of homesickness.

IMG_5163.JPG
It is winter but warm enough to nap on the dock as the wind caresses the skin and the waves lap upon the steps.
IMG_5206.jpg
There are funny little fish that like to flop out of the water to sunbathe on the higher steps, and flop back into the shallows when footfalls draw near. Little children like to try to make a game of catching these elusive fishy floppers.

This is a pretty boring blog post- it isn’t poetic, educational, nor insightful- but sometimes adulthood is like that: you get your tax returns, you vote, you pack, arrange to visit your folks in Nagasaki, and buy airplane flights. You write because its a way to remember, and you go to the beach every day because pretty soon you won’t be able to anymore.

~~~

I’m convinced I’ll return here, sometime during the next few years. Few times I’ve found a community to fall so deeply in love with, surrounded by vibrant nature.

IMG_5072.jpg
I was lucky to be invited to a nontraditional island wedding and I spent most of my time drawing portraits for a long line of little flower-girls.

Portland will be an entirely different ballgame. As soon as my plane lands in Portland, I’ll be buckling down and diving headfirst into work, somehow managing to twist my output into a form of vigorous play (because who likes to admit they like capitalism and corporatism). I’ll be experiencing a steep learning curve and I’m not sure I’ll carve out time for anything but time with friends, rock climbing, and art.

I’m excited to see you, Portland, and to see you in a different light. No longer will I be in the Reed bubble but I’ll be innovating across boundaries, learning bucketloads, and reconnecting with beloved family.

Love,

Kaori

IMG_5186.jpg
A tiny mollusc. It has a tiny little hard plate on its bottom which it uses to shield its flesh- when it lets its guard down, the snail part stretches out and suctions onto rock, flesh, etc.
