Ogasawara, Ye ‘Ol Land o’ Tropical Paradise

Thinking of visiting Ogasawara or staying at Pelan Village?

You’ve come to the right place.

This photo gallery will give you a photographic glimpse into what life is like on this gorgeous island.


 

Click each photo to enlarge it and read a description.

 

These pictures mostly sum up all the perks of visiting or living at Pelan Village in Ogasawara. Broadly, the cons include: periodic loneliness, unreasonable grumpiness, certain homesickness, lack of eligible bachelors/bachelorettes, overcoming communication barriers, terrible summertime sunburns, mosquitos feastin’ on your flesh, and roasting 7 rats over an open fire with which to feed the dogs (just kidding, I enjoyed that bit).

You might be wondering: Where exactly IS Ogasawara? It is located 1000km from Tokyo in the Pacific Ocean, level with Okinawa. Ogasawara is home to many endemic species and boasts a sleepy little town and laid-back island culture.

ma copymap copy

18 Comments Add yours

  1. nipponaholic says:

    Thank you for sharing! I love your blog and Ogasawara is indeed beautiful, where i’m planning to go in May during Golden week holidays. It is on top of my list and i cant wait to see it by myself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Kaori Freda says:

      Make sure to reserve tickets on the Ogasawaramaru ferry ahead of time! Tickets can sell out quickly during peak tourist seasons. I would recommend staying at either eco-tourist village Pelan Village, for exceptional community (and the cheapest rates on the island) or Pat Inn, whose architectural design is simply gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. nipponaholic says:

        Yes i am actually looking at Pelan Village as I want to be as close as possible to the nature, and stay on budget. Will you still be there in May?
        And Pat Inn is gorgeous 🙂 but out of my budget for this trip sadly ><

        Like

      2. Kaori Freda says:

        Pelan Village is really an incredible community- the hosts teach yoga, have massage sessions, and offer sea-kayaking tours. On top of that, when you arrive they host a welcome dinner party and tell lovely stories. There are some fun quirks, including a compost toilet and solar-powered showers (which may mean chillier showers that you might be used to) but all that asides, I would highly recommend it. They’ve really gone out of their way to make me feel like family while I’ve volunteered here. I might be here in May but I’m not sure, as this is an open-ended volunteer agreement. Keep in touch!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Kaori Freda says:

        Plus, Pelan Village is super close to 3 lovely beaches and a bunch of hiking trails!

        Like

      4. nipponaholic says:

        Sounds perfect! Chika told me the rooms are full T_T but will check if someone can share a room with me, waiting for her reply. Can imagine that golden week must be busy. Fingers crossed.

        Like

      5. Kaori Freda says:

        Oh no!!! Well, you can go sea kayaking with Ryo or do yoga with Chika! You can check it out on the new websites I helped build: http://www.ecovillagepelan.wordpress.com and https://chikayogamassage.wordpress.com/. I hope a spot opens up and you can come experience Pelan Village!

        Like

  2. nipponaholic says:

    Thanks! Checked those new websites, very nice 🙂
    O well, if there’s no spot for me in Pelan, I’ll probably come after GW then, guess GW is busy on the island… Indeed want to go sea kayaking with Ryo and yoga with Chika!

    Like

  3. nipponaholic says:

    Oh and I like your new theme btw 🙂 very colorful!

    Like

    1. Kaori Freda says:

      aw, shucks! thanks!
      let me know if you make your way over here. If I’m still here, I’ll tour you around!

      Like

      1. nipponaholic says:

        OKAY! that motivates me more to go! wish i get a place, i just need a bed T_T hope you will still be there

        Like

      2. Kaori Freda says:

        Chika told me that you’re coming during Golden Week! Are you excited?!

        Like

      3. nipponaholic says:

        Yes! I am if I get the ferry tickets! Chika told me someone is willing to share a room with me, is that you?

        I’m very excited to finally make Ogasawara happen, it’s always been on top of my list. Fingers crossed that I get the ferry tickets.

        Like

      4. Kaori Freda says:

        It isn’t me, since I’m a volunteer and have a separate room. Excited for you! It is lovely here, but do expect the energy-saving restroom facilities, they are not what you might be used to!

        Like

      5. nipponaholic says:

        Yea I saw that but it will be a good experience for sure. I want a trip to be closest to the nature, though I’m scared of bugs… but whatever!!

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Kaori Freda says:

        I gotta say, there are a ton of bugs here tho: snails, hermit crabs (do those count?) rolie polies, cockroaches too….. will you be ok?

        Like

      7. nipponaholic says:

        ummm im okay with snails and hermit crabs, and rolie polies too.. the one thing im really terrified with in my life is cockroach… but i really want to experience the eco community, so i will try to prepare myself. think other than bugs, i will have a great and unforgettable experience 🙂

        Like

      8. nipponaholic says:

        I reserved the ferry ticket to Chichijima! cant wait!

        Like

Leave a Reply

